Jop Kind

Jop Kind received his PhD from the Radboud University Nijmegen in 2008 for his work on chromatin and gene expression in the research group of Asifa Akhtar at EMBL Heidelberg. He subsequently joined the lab of Bas van Steensel at The Netherlands Cancer Institute for his postdoctoral training, where he further studied chromatin and developed techniques to explore nuclear organization in single cells. For this work he received EMBO/LTF and NWO/Veni fellowships. In October 2014, he became a group leader at the Hubrecht Institute and was awarded an ERC Starting and a NWO Vidi grant. In 2016 he was honored with the prestigious Antoni van Leeuwenhoek (NKI) and John Kendrew awards (EMBL).

Team membersKind

Leila Nahidiazar

Postdoc
l.nahidiazar@hubrecht.eu

Leila Nahidiazar

Samy Kefalopoulou

PhD Student
s.kefalopoulou@hubrecht.eu

Silke Lochs

PhD Student
s.lochs@hubrecht.eu

Sandra de Vries

Research Technician
s.devries@hubrecht.eu

Isabel Guerreiro

Postdoc
i.guerreiro@hubrecht.eu

Isabel Guerreiro

Corina Markodimitraki

PhD Student
c.markodimitraki@hubrecht.eu

Koos Rooijers

Postdoc
k.rooijers@hubrecht.eu

Franka Rang

master student
f.rang@hubrecht.eu

Kim de Luca

PhD Student
k.deluca@hubrecht.eu

Sara Perricone

Postdoc
s.perricone@hubrecht.eu

Show more

Show more

Research

Kind: Spatiotemporal regulation of genomic function

The genomic era has greatly advanced our understanding of cellular processes and disease mechanisms. However, our knowledge about the regulation of the genome is generally based on datasets derived from...

Read research

Key publications

Kind, J., Pagie, L., de Vries, SS., Azar, LN., Dey, SS., Bienko, M., Zhan, Y., Lajoie, B., de Graaf ,CA., Amendola, M., Imakaev, M., Fudenberg, G., Mirny, L., Jalink,  K., Dekker, J., van Oudenaarden, A., van Steensel, B (2015)  Genome-wide maps of nuclear lamina interactions in single human cells. Cell 163: 134-147.

 

Kind, J., Pagie, L., Ortabozkoyun, H., Boyle, S., de Vries, S.S., Janssen, H, Amendola, M., Nolen, L.D., Bickmore, W.A., van Steensel, B. (2013) Single-cell dynamics of genome-nuclear lamina interactions. Cell 153: 178-192.

 

Filion, G.J., van Bemmel, J.G., Braunschweig, U., Talhout, W., Kind, J., Ward, L.D., Brugman, W., de Castro, I.J., Kerkhoven, R.M., Bussemaker, H.J., van Steensel, B. (2010) Systematic protein location mapping reveals five principal chromatin types in Drosophila cells. Cell 143: 212-224.

 

Kind, J., van Steensel, B. (2010) Genome-nuclear lamina interactions and gene regulation. Curr Opin Cell Biol. 22: 320-325.

 

Kind, J., Vaquerizas, J.M., Gebhardt, P., Gentzel, M., Luscombe, N.M., Bertone, P., Akhtar, A. (2008) Genome-wide analysis reveals MOF as a key regulator of dosage compensation and gene expression in Drosophila. Cell 133: 813-828.

Selected publications

Selected